RSS Feed

The Reason for the World

Last Monday I had the amazing privilege of going to Kingdom Bound to hear (and see) Nick Vujicic speak. Nick’s ministry is Life Without Limbs and his testimony is incredibly inspirational.

Most of you know from previous posts that I live with chronic pain due to nerve damage from polypropylene mesh and surgeries. I’ve lived with it for a little over a year and a half now and it’s not likely to be going away any time soon. No, it’s never easy. Yes, I struggle with it – a lot. Day in and day out I have asked myself the Big Why’s.

Why me?

Why now?

Why won’t God heal me?

 

Honestly, you’d think that I’d have come to terms with all this and “just accepted” that things are the way they are quite a while ago. But humans are curious creatures with an insatiable desire to know. Oh I had ideas for why. Too many, perhaps.

“God is punishing me.”
“God is having me learn something.”
“God is teaching me patience.”
“God wants others to learn from what I’m going through.”
“Maybe there is a factor to the faith-healing crap after all.”
And many more.

Nick’s message at Kingdom Bound helped me understand why.

If you don’t know him, Nick was born without arms or legs. Listen to his testimony:

 

Jesus answered, “It was not that this man sinned, or his parents, but that the works of God might be displayed in him.

John 9.3

What is this?! my heart shouted while listening to Nick. Suddenly, after reading and hearing that story all my life it hit me then. THIS is the reason for it all. THIS is WHY!

But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40.31

 

IMG_1930b

I didn’t even try to stop the tears.

 

2 responses »

  1. This was a very hard lesson for me to learn too. Nick is amazing. It was hard for me to come to terms with the fact that God’s highest purpose is his own glory. I thought at first, “How can that be? It’s so selfish!” But then I thought about it more, and I thought if you are the Creator and your name is synonymous with PERFECTION, LOVE, EVERYTHING GOOD, then I can understand why the glory of that is the highest value of God. Why would I not want all that is good to be glorified, and it can only be shown best when I need him, am not made perfect yet, and there he is beaming through all that is weak and me, exposing me for who I am: a ferociously loved child of the PERFECTER or my soul. :) Thank you for writing this entry! I am so blessed to know you Heather!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment!

The Mesh Warrior ℠

THE PEN IS MIGHTIER THAN THE SCALPEL. ©

Chronicles of a Christian

Thoughts born out of scripture, life, and observation...

Fighting Upstream

"Remember, a dead fish can float downstream, but it takes a live one to swim upstream"-W.C.F.

WoolyWarm's Farm

Adventures in Homesteading

